Browsing Tag



Island Apollo

August 24, 2015
Island Apollo

Formed in 2007 in Irvine, California, the indie rock band now known as Island Apollo quickly established themselves as one of the hottest musical acts on the west coast, earning airtime on KROQ, winning Orange County’s “Best Pop Artist” at the OC Music Awards, performing at legendary venues such as The Roxy and The Troubadour, and opening for Capital Cities and Third Eye Blind. Their songs appeared on FOX Sports, CBS and VH-1, and in national marketing campaigns for Sobe Drinks and Sprint.

Then, in the summer of 2014, the band underwent a bold transformation. Changing their name to Island Apollo, the band has also embraced a new musical direction, one that blends the old with the new, displaying hints of Arcade Fire, Weezer, Queen and Billy Joel. On their debut EP, lead vocalist Ryan Kilpatrick’s soaring vocals explore themes of age, love, trust and perseverence while guitarist Heath Farmer, bassist Addam Farmer, keyboardist Austin Farmer and drummer Matt Champagne craft slickly precise rock melodies that are fun, playful and danceable. READ MORE



March 13, 2015
Forebear Band

Flawlessly weaving together cinematic indie rock with spectacular harmonies and a truly unique voice, the music of Forebear takes listeners on a surreal journey through ideas of inner conflict, interpersonal crisis and the perils of living in an age of global tension. Comprised of some of Los Angeles’ most prolific musicians — Scott Goldbaum (vocals, guitar), Molly Rogers (viola), Nick Chadian (bass) and Mike Musselman (drums) — the band was formed in 2014 and, after only a few months, caught the attention of famed producer Scott Gordon, previously known for his work with Alanis Morissette and Ringo Starr.

The band’s self-titled debut EP, which established them as an act to watch in 2015, features songs such as “North Korea and the Five Stages of Grief,” which was written by Goldbaum in his car and explores interpersonal drama in a manner than is both grandiose and beautiful, and “Cusp,” which highlights Goldbaum’s stream-of-consciousness lyrics and Molly’s haunting viola solos atop a driving rhythm section. The album explores the notion of finding catharis in sharing experiences — both good and bad — while finding inner peace and learning from those experiences. READ MORE


Nordic’s Yell

December 30, 2014
nordic's yell photo

The music of French rock band Nordic’s Yell reflects the diverse musical tastes of the band, with influences ranging from hard rock to grunge to acoustic blues, and on their first album, released in August of 2014, the band provides a glimpse into their unique musical universe. Brothers Niels (vocals, guitar) and Lorenzo (guitar) began playing music together at the age of 13 and founded Nordic’s Yell in 2013 and, in just two short years, have developed a dedicated underground following.

On Nordic Yell’s debut EP, recorded at Magic Studio in Saint Peray, France, Niels’ haunting vocals combine with Lorenzo’s layered, complex melodies to form songs that memorably toe the line between darkness and hope.

To learn more about Nordic’s Yell, visit them online at READ MORE


Royal Canoe

November 24, 2014

The winter climate of Winnipeg can be cold, crushing and claustrophobic. But its harshness is balanced out by the region’s warm, euphoric summers and their seemingly-endless blue skies. These cyclical extremes, and the effects that they can have on one’s psyche — both positive and negative — are reflected in the music of Royal Canoe, a six-piece band that calls the city home. Featuring Matt Peters (vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitar), Bucky Driedger (electric guitar, vocals), Matt Schellenberg (keyboards, vocals), Brendan Berg (bass, keyboard, vocals), Derek Allard (drum kit) and Michael Jordan (electronic drums), Royal Canoe’s sound is a unique fusion of indie rock, jazz, pop and hip-hop that is, at times, difficult to define, but is nonetheless remarkably cohesive and crackling with an infectious energy. READ MORE


Diarrhea Planet

September 29, 2014

Perhaps unsurprisingly, those who are unfamiliar with the music of raucous Nashville six-piece band Diarrhea Planet tend to focus on their name. Until they hear them play, that is. After that, the band’s scatological moniker ceases to matter, lost in a thunderous barrage of explosive hooks, riffs and solos that seamlessly blend the best aspects of punk, pop and classic rock.

Formed in 2009 by frontman Jordan Smith, along with friend Evan P. Donohue and drummer Casey Weissbuch, Diarrhea Planet was their answer to the far-too-serious environment at Belmont University, where they were students. Bassist Mike Boyle and guitarist Brent Toler joined shortly thereafter, and the band released their debut EP, Aloha, which tallied over 10,000 downloads. After Donohue left the band in 2010, guitarists Evan Bird and Emmett Miller were added to the roster, and their twelve additional strings enabled Diarrhea Planet to begin writing the sort of bombastic, stadium-sized tunes that are showcased on their 2011 LP Loose Jewels. READ MORE